

Minutes for the Students' Council Meeting of the Students' Association of MacEwan University November 16, 2021 at 6:00pm via Zoom

**Voting Members:** 

Gabriel Ambutong, Councillor

Abby Beka, Councillor

Freja Cartujano, Councillor

Thomas Cross-Trush, Vice President Student Life

Myles Dykes, President

Cassey Fallis, Vice President Academic

vacant, Councillor

vacant, Councillor

vacant, Councillor

vacant, Councillor

vacant, Councillor

Nhi Phan, Councillor Asif Siddiqui, Councillor Alem Tesfay, Councillor Elaine Tran, Councillor

Larissa Williams, Vice President Operations

and Finance

Matt Yanish, Vice President External Joseph A. La Torre, Councillor

SAMU Officials and Council Support:

Timothy Jobs, Chair

Alan Honey, Governance Advisor

Samantha Callaghan, Administrative Coordinator

\_\_\_\_\_\_

Meeting called to order at 6:00pm.

<Intros>

### 1. Treaty 6 Land Recognition

We would like to acknowledge that this meeting of the Students' Association of MacEwan University is taking place on the traditional territories of the people of the Treaty 6 region in Central Alberta.

The Students' Association of MacEwan University is situated in the centre of what we call the city of Edmonton, which is called Amiskwaciy Waskahikan or Beaver Hill House in Nehiyawewin (Cree). This is the traditional home of the Nehiyaw (Cree) and Michif (Métis), and meeting place for many Indigenous peoples including the Nakawe (Saulteaux), Siksika (Blackfoot), Nakota Sioux (Stoney) and other nations.

2. Approvals

2.1 MOTION

TO APPROVE THE AGENDA FOR NOVEMBER 16, 2021

TRAN/VPO

**CARRIED** 

- 3. For Information
  - 3.1. Reports
  - 3.1.1. Appointment Advisory Committee (In Camera)
- 4. Question Period
  - 4.1. Written Questions
  - 4.2. Oral Questions
- 5. In Camera Period

5.1 Students' Council Vacancies

MOTION TO GO IN CAMERA

PRES/TESFAY

# **CARRIED**

MOTION TO GO OUT OF CAMERA

AMBUTONG/SIDDIQUI

**CARRIED** 

- 6. Motions & Business Orders of the Day
  - 6.1. Students' Council Vacancies (x4)

MOTION TO APPOINT SEMPALA, HOMINIUK, GABLE, & SEMOTIUK AS A COUNCILLOR EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 17, 2021 FOR A TERM ENDING OCTOBER 31, 2022

### PRES/AMBUTONG

Favour: Ambutong, Beka, Cartujano, Vpsl, Pres, Vpa, La Torre, Phan, Siddiqui, Tesfay, Tran, Vpo, Vpe

#### **CARRIED**

- 7. Evaluation
- 8. Recognition
- 9. Adjournment

MOTION TO ADJOURN

**VPO** 

# **CARRIED**

Next Meeting Date: November 17, 2021

Meeting adjourned at 7:27pm.