

Minutes for the Students' Council Meeting of the Students' Association of MacEwan University April 19, 2023 at 6:00pm in Council Chamber

Voting Members:

Gabriel Ambutong, Councillor
Abby Beka, Councillor
Jakob Cardinal, Councillor
Freja Cartujano, Councillor
Jayden Depeel, Councillor
Myles Dykes, President
Cierra Jacobs, Councillor
Joseph A. La Torre, Councillor
Mary-Excel Okey-Nwaka, Councillor
Nhi Phan, Councillor
Rayyah Sempala, Councillor
Justine Tan, Councillor
Alem Tesfay, Councillor
Elaine Tran, Vice President Student Life

Stephan Vasquez, Vice President Academic Larissa Williams, Vice President Governance and Finance Matt Yanish, Vice President External Sonia Yusuf, Councillor Layal Zidan, Councillor

SAMU Officials and Council Support: Timothy Jobs, Chair Darryl Kostash, General Manager Alan Honey, Governance Advisor

Meeting called to order at pm.

<Intros>

1. Treaty 6 Land Recognition

We would like to acknowledge that this meeting of the Students' Association of MacEwan University is taking place on the traditional territories of the people of the Treaty 6 region in Central Alberta.

The Students' Association of MacEwan University is situated in the centre of what we call the city of Edmonton, which is called Amiskwaciy Waskahikan or Beaver Hill House in Nehiyawewin (Cree). This is the traditional home of the Nehiyaw (Cree) and Michif (Métis), and meeting place for many Indigenous peoples including the Nakawe (Saulteaux), Siksika (Blackfoot), Nakota Sioux (Stoney) and other nations.

2. Approvals

2.1 MOTION TO APPROVE THE AGENDA FOR APRIL 19, 2023

ZIDAN/JACOBS

CARRIED

2.2 MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MARCH 15 AND 22, 2023

JACOBS/AMBUTONG

CARRIED

- 3. Presentations
- 4. For Information
 - 4.1. Reports
 - 4.1.1. President
 - 4.1.2. Vice President Academic
 - 4.1.3. Vice President External
 - 4.1.4. Vice President Governance & Finance
 - 4.1.5. Vice President Student Life

Healthy Campus Alberta - June Summit.

- 4.1.6. Students' Council Operations Committee (In Camera)
- 4.1.7. Budget and Finance Committee
- 4.1.8. Bylaws and Policy Committee
- 4.1.9. Governance Remuneration Advisory Committee
- 4.1.10. Chief Retuning Officer
- 4.1.11. Leadership and Review Committee
- 4.1.12. Executive Committee
- 4.2. Executive Committee Minutes

Minutes of March 1, 8, 14, 22, and 29, 2023 provided.

- 5. Question Period
 - 5.1. Written Questions
 - 5.2. Oral Questions

Topics Include: Sunday exams deferral fee; mental health services to students; prerequisites for classes; anti-sexual violence student group training; U-Pass; student insurance coverage for mental health; issues for students re. class cancellations; CRO report suggestions; elections; textbook transparency project;

6. In Camera Period

MOTION TO GO IN CAMERA

VPGF/JACOBS

Carried

*Ambutong declares conflict re. 6.1 and leaves room.

6.1. Councillor Appointments

*Ambutong returns.

6.2. Governance Investigations and Reinstatement Committee Report

2 of 4

MOTION TO GO OUT OF CAMERA PRES/AMBUTONG

CARRIED

7. Motions & Business Orders of the Day

7.1. Councillor Appointments

MOTION TO APPOINT JOEHN TORRES AS A COUNCILLOR FOR A TERM OF MAY 1, 2023 TO OCTOBER 31, 2023

VPGF/JACOBS

Favour: Ambutong, Beka, Cardinal, Cartujano, Depeel, Pres, Jacobs, La Torre, Okey-Nwaka, Phan, Sempala, Tan, Tesfay, Vpsl, Vpa, Vpgf, Vpe, Yusuf, Zidan

CARRIED

MOTION TO APPOINT CHIOMA UZOR AS A COUNCILLOR FOR A TERM OF MAY 1, 2023 TO OCTOBER 31, 2023

VPGF/TAN

Favour: Ambutong, Beka, Cardinal, Cartujano, Depeel, Pres, Jacobs, La Torre, Okey-Nwaka, Phan, Sempala, Tan, Tesfay, Vpsl, Vpa, Vpgf, Vpe, Yusuf, Zidan

CARRIED

MOTION TO APPOINT NATHAN POON AS A COUNCILLOR FOR A TERM OF MAY 1, 2023 TO OCTOBER 31, 2023

VPGF/ZIDAN

Favour: Ambutong, Beka, Cardinal, Cartujano, Depeel, Pres, Jacobs, La Torre, Okey-Nwaka, Phan, Sempala, Tan, Tesfay, Vpsl, Vpgf, Vpe, Yusuf, Zidan

CARRIED

MOTION TO APPOINT ALEXANDRA RYZHOVA AS A COUNCILLOR FOR A TERM OF MAY 1, 2023 TO OCTOBER 31, 2023

VPGF/CARTUJANO

*Ambutong declares conflict

Favour: Beka, Cardinal, Cartujano, Depeel, Pres, Jacobs, La Torre, Okey-Nwaka, Phan, Sempala, Tan, Tesfay, Vpsl, Vpa, Vpgf, Vpe, Yusuf, Zidan

Abstain: Ambutong

CARRIED

MOTION TO RECESS FOR 5 MINUTES

VPGF/PRES

CARRIED

7.2. Audit Committee

Nominees: Uzor, Poon

MOTION TO APPOINT NATHAN POON TO THE AUDIT COMMITTEE FOR A TERM OF MAY 1 TO OCTOBER 31, 2023

VPGF/ZIDAN

Favour: Ambutong, Beka, Cardinal, Cartujano, Depeel, Pres, Jacobs, La Torre, Okey-Nwaka, Phan, Sempala, Tan, Tesfay, Vpsl, Vpa, Vpgf, Vpe, Yusuf, Zidan

CARRIED

7.3. Governance Committee

Nominees: Uzor, Torres

MOTION TO APPOINT CHIOMA UZOR AND JOEHN TORRES TO THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE FOR A TERM OF MAY 1 TO OCTOBER 31, 2023

VPGF/LA TORRE

Favour: Ambutong, Beka, Cardinal, Cartujano, Depeel, Pres, Jacobs, La Torre, Okey-Nwaka, Phan, Sempala, Tan, Tesfay, Vpsl, Vpa, Vpgf, Vpe, Yusuf, Zidan

CARRIED

7.4. Governance Investigations and Reinstatement Committee Report

MOTION TO MAKE PUBLIC THE GOVERNANCE INVESTIGATIONS AND REINSTATEMENT COMMITTEE REPORT DATED MARCH 23, 2023

VPGF/TAN

Favour: Ambutong, Beka, Cardinal, Cartujano, Depeel, Pres, Jacobs, La Torre, Okey-Nwaka, Phan, Sempala, Tan, Tesfay, Vpsl, Vpa, Vpgf, Vpe, Yusuf, Zidan

CARRIED

- 8. Consultation
- 9. Evaluation
- 10. Recognition
- 11. Adjournment

MOTION TO ADJOURN

VPGF

CARRIED

Next Meeting Date: May 17, 2023.

Meeting adjourned at 8:01pm.