

Minutes for the Students' Council Meeting of the Students' Association of MacEwan University January 29, 2025 at 6:00pm in the Council Chamber

Voting Members:

Gabriel Ambutong, President
Tolu Dare, Councillor
Aryan Dutta, Councillor
Aidan Fisher, Councillor
Darcy Hoogers, Vice President Academic
Cierra Jacobs, Councillor
Joseph A. La Torre, Vice President Governance
and Finance
Aleace Moom, Vice President Student Life
Moselle Namoc, Councillor
Maade Okai, Councillor (virtual)
Nathan Poon, Councillor
Israel Reyes, Councillor

Vincent Trinh, Councillor Chioma Uzor, Councillor Layal Zidan, Councillor vacant, Councillor vacant, Councillor vacant, Vice President External

SAMU Officials and Council Support:

Timothy Jobs, Chair Darryl Kostash, General Manager Larissa Williams, Internal Advocacy Advisor Dylan Antonio, Admin Support

Meeting called to order at 6:00pm.

Joehn Torres, Councillor

1. Treaty 6 Land Recognition

We would like to acknowledge that this meeting of the Students' Association of MacEwan University is taking place on the traditional territories of the people of the Treaty 6 region in Central Alberta.

The Students' Association of MacEwan University is situated in the centre of what we call the city of Edmonton, which is called Amiskwaciy Waskahikan or Beaver Hill House in Nehiyawewin (Cree). This is the traditional home of the Nehiyaw (Cree) and Michif (Métis), and meeting place for many Indigenous peoples including the Nakawe (Saulteaux), Siksika (Blackfoot), Nakota Sioux (Stoney) and other nations.

2. Approvals

2.1 MOTION

TO APPROVE THE AGENDA FOR JANUARY 29, 2025

DUTTA/ZIDAN

CARRIED

- 3. Question Period
 - 3.1. Written Questions
 - 3.2. Oral Questions

Topics include: SAMU Fee membership freeze rationale, sustainability and contingency. Compliance with PSLA.

4. Motions & Business Orders of the Day

4.1. SAMU Fees Policy

MOTION TO APPROVE THE SAMU FEES POLICY, EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2025, ON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE FINANCE COMMITTEE

VPGF/UZOR

Favour: Dare, Dutta, Fischer, Jacobs, Namoc, Okai, Poon, Reyes, Torres, Trinh, Uzor, President, VPA, VPGF, VPSL

CARRIED

4.2. SAMU Fees Policy – Annual Membership Fee Increase

MOTION TO DISREGARD CLAUSE 4.3 OF THE SAMU FEES POLICY FOR THE 2025-2026 FISCAL YEAR

VPGF/JACOBS

Favour: Dare, Dutta, Fischer, Jacobs, Namoc, Okai, Poon, Reyes, Torres, Trinh, Uzor, President, VPA, VPGF, VPSL

CARRIED

- 5. Consultation
- 6. Evaluation
- 7. Recognition
- 8. Adjournment

MOTION TO ADJOURN

ZIDAN

CARRIED

Next Meeting Date: February 19, 2025

Meeting adjourned at 6:18pm.