

Minutes for the Students' Council Meeting of the Students' Association of MacEwan University April 26, 2025 at 2:30pm in the Council Chamber

Voting Members:

Gabriel Ambutong, President
Tolu Dare, Councillor
Aryan Dutta, Councillor
Aidan Fisher, Councillor
Christian Galera Councillor
Cornelius Glasgow, Councillor
Darcy Hoogers, Vice President Academic
Cierra Jacobs, Councillor
Joseph A. La Torre, Vice President Governance
and Finance
Aleace Moom, Vice President Student Life
Moselle Namoc, Councillor
Maade Okai, Councillor
Nathan Poon, Councillor

Israel Reyes, Councillor Joehn Torres, Councillor Vincent Trinh, Councillor Chioma Uzor, Councillor Layal Zidan, Councillor vacant, Vice President External

SAMU Officials and Council Support:

Timothy Jobs, Chair Darryl Kostash, General Manager Alan Honey, Governance Advisor

Meeting called to order at 2:30pm.

<Intros>

1. Treaty 6 Land Recognition

We would like to acknowledge that this meeting of the Students' Association of MacEwan University is taking place on the traditional territories of the people of the Treaty 6 region in Central Alberta.

The Students' Association of MacEwan University is situated in the centre of what we call the city of Edmonton, which is called Amiskwaciy Waskahikan or Beaver Hill House in Nehiyawewin (Cree). This is the traditional home of the Nehiyaw (Cree) and Michif (Métis), and meeting place for many Indigenous peoples including the Nakawe (Saulteaux), Siksika (Blackfoot), Nakota Sioux (Stoney) and other nations.

2. Approvals

2.1 MOTION

TO APPROVE THE AGENDA FOR APRIL 26, 2025

UZOR/VPSL

CARRIED

- 3. Presentations
 - 3.1. Canadian Alliance of Student Associations
- 4. Question Period
 - 4.1. Written Questions
 - 4.2. Oral Questions
- 5. In Camera Period
 - 5.1. CASA Membership

MOTION TO GO IN CAMERA

PRES/FISHER

CARRIED

MOTION TO GO OUT OF CAMERA

PRES/UZOR

CARRIED

- 6. Motions & Business Orders of the Day
 - **6.1. CASA Membership Withdrawal**

MOTION TO ADOPT STUDENTS' COUNCIL RESOLUTION #2025-04-26-1

PRES/DUTTA

CARRIED

Favour: Dare, Dutta, Fisher, Zidan, Okai, Poon, Namoc, Uzor, Trinh, Galera, Pres, Vpa, Vpgf, Vpsl

- 7. Consultation
- 8. Evaluation
- 9. Recognition
- 10. Adjournment

MOTION TO ADJOURN

DUTTA

CARRIED

Next Meeting Date: May 21, 2025 Meeting adjourned at 3:12pm